Insights

Apprendre des autres Board Leaders

La connaissance, c’est le pouvoir. Dans le monde en évolution rapide de la gouvernance d’entreprise, il est essentiel de garder une longueur d’avance. Board News, Board Views, Board Guides, Board Books et Board Casts offrent un large éventail de perspectives sur les questions clés et les dernières tendances en matière de gouvernance d’entreprise, grâce à notre pool d’experts internationaux.

  • Board News

    Réussite de la cohorte 22/23 de l’International Board Certificate Program

  • Board News

    Le Swiss Institute of Directors s’associe au Chartered Governance Institute

  • Board Views

    De la gouvernance d’entreprise de la durabilité à la gouvernance d’entreprise durable

    Quelle est la meilleure façon d'intégrer le développement durable dans le cadre de la gouvernance d'entreprise ? Les conseils d'administration ont choisi deux voies distinctes : la voie fonctionnelle, qui se concentre sur la gouvernance d'entreprise de la durabilité, et l'approche fondamentale, qui mène à la gouvernance d'entreprise durable. Cet article évalue les mérites et les limites de ces deux approches et appelle à une transition vers une gouvernance durable. Pour ce faire, les membres du conseil d'administration doivent s'engager régulièrement avec les parties prenantes et débattre en permanence des hypothèses sous-jacentes afin de poursuivre le développement du cadre de gouvernance, le cas échéant.

  • Board Views

    La société polyvalente, moteur de la création de valeur durable

    La nature du débat sur le rôle des entreprises dans la société suggère fortement une nature cyclique, avec des tentatives constantes d'équilibrer les différents intérêts et perspectives. Pour surmonter l'illusion de résoudre cette énigme, cet article propose une approche alternative, le capitalisme polyvalent. Il part du principe que les entreprises doivent se concurrencer non seulement sur leurs produits et services, mais aussi sur leurs différents profils d'objectifs. Il appartient aux consommateurs, aux travailleurs et aux investisseurs de décider où faire leurs achats, travailler et investir. L'article propose un cadre et une méthodologie pour créer un écosystème complet qui permette ce processus d'appariement et suggère des moyens de surmonter les difficultés en cours de route.

  • Board News

    Le Président de la Board Foundation rejoint le Global Governance Committee de l’ICGN

  • Board News

    Publication du rapport mondial du GNDI sur les directeurs 2023

  • Board Guides

    Primer sur les devoirs des conseils d’administration en matière de climat

  • Board News

    Réussite de la classe 22/23 du Swiss Board Certificate

  • Board Views

    Le conseil d’administration, moteur du changement durable

    La promotion du sens des responsabilités est souvent considérée comme un critère de bonne gouvernance d'entreprise. L'article plaide pour l'extension du discours de la responsabilité à la citoyenneté d'entreprise et pour la compréhension des initiatives de durabilité en tant que processus d'innovation. Le Conseil d'administration a ici un rôle central à jouer, à la fois dans l'interprétation du changement social et dans la création des conditions d'une mise en œuvre réussie des initiatives d'impact social.

  • Board Views

    Viser l’excellence dans la gouvernance des entreprises

    La contribution du conseil d'administration du capital-risque à la création de valeur entrepreneuriale et son rôle central dans les écosystèmes de capital-risque sont souvent négligés malgré la longue histoire de la gouvernance du capital-risque. L'histoire nous enseigne six principes d'excellence en matière de gouvernance d'entreprise.

  • Board Views

    Les promesses et les périles de la gouvernance agile

    L'agilité en tant que principe de leadership a pris une importance considérable ces dernières années. De nombreuses entreprises considèrent l'agilité comme une nouvelle culture de leadership mieux adaptée aux opportunités et aux défis futurs. Dans le même temps, les entreprises doivent adhérer aux principes de gouvernance d'entreprise, dont certains sont en contradiction avec les principes d'agilité. Cet article présente des considérations visant à améliorer la compatibilité des principes de leadership agile avec les principes d'une gouvernance d'entreprise efficace.

  • Board Views

    De la gouvernance des entreprises à la gouvernance des écosystèmes

    La maîtrise des écosystèmes est de plus en plus considérée comme la clé de la création de valeur stratégique dans des environnements très dynamiques. Le rôle de la gouvernance est devenu un facteur clé de différenciation entre les organisations qui gagnent ou perdent au jeu de l'écosystème. Cet article traite de l'importance de la gouvernance pour la création, le développement et la croissance réussis des écosystèmes et présente huit défis à relever tout au long du cycle de vie des écosystèmes. Il se poursuit par une taxonomie de la gouvernance des écosystèmes qui fournit un menu de mécanismes de gouvernance efficaces pour relever ces défis. L'article se termine par des conseils sur la meilleure façon de gérer la transition d'une gouvernance d'entreprise à une gouvernance d'écosystème.

  • Board Views

    Mission accomplie ? L’état de la gouvernance numérique

    Il y a cinq ans, j'ai invité plusieurs leaders d'opinion à réfléchir avec moi au rôle du Board Leaders face à la digitalisation. Le résultat est un recueil de douze perspectives sur la gouvernance de la numérisation (Hilb 2017). Où en sommes-nous aujourd'hui, cinq ans, une pandémie et des milliers d'articles sur la gouvernance numérique plus tard ?

  • Board News

    Un hommage à Martin Hilb

  • Board News

    Changements à la tête de la Board Foundation

  • Board Guides

    Guidelines on the Corporate Governance of Organizational Culture

  • Board Guides

    Guidelines on the Corporate Governance of Climate Change and Biodiversity

  • Board Guides

    Guidelines on the Corporate Governance of Data

  • Board Guides

    Guidelines on the Corporate Governance of Cybersecurity

  • Board Guides

    Guidelines on the Corporate Governance of Startups

  • Board Guides

    Guidelines on the Corporate Governance of Business Excellence

  • Board Guides

    Guidelines on the Corporate Governance of SMEs

  • Board Books

    Governance of Sustainability

  • Board Books

    Governance of Ecosystems

  • Board Books

    Governace of Ventures

  • Board Books

    Governance of Digitalization

  • Board Books

    Wirksame Führung und Aufsicht von öffentlichen Unternehmen

  • Board Books

    Strategische Führung auf VR und GL-Ebene in KMU

  • Board Books

    Verwaltungsrats-Sitzungen Grundlegung und Sitzungstechnik

  • Board Books

    Normatives Management

    Die globale Finanz- und Wirtschaftskrise hat wachgerüttelt und gezeigt, dass sich für die Unternehmensführung ein neues Management-Modell aufdrängt, das nicht mehr vom Prinzip der Gewinnmaximierung, sondern von einem «Gewinn unter Nebenbedingungen», d.h. unter der An­nahme einer realistischen Berücksichtigung von Anliegen und lnteressen aller Anspruchsgruppen, ausgeht. Diese Nebenbedingungen umfassen dabei alle jene Kriterien, die über die rein ökonomische Maximierung hinausge­hen und die Nachhaltigkeit sowie die Corporate Social Responsibility definieren und sicherstellen. Sie bilden die Grundlage für das normative Management, das bewusst in die strategische Planung in der Unternehmung einzu­beziehen ist.

  • Board Books

    Wirksame Führung und Aufsicht von Not-for-Profit-Organisationen

  • Board Books

    Wirksame Führung und Aufsicht von Familienunternehmen

  • Board Books

    Neues integriertes Konzept der VR, GL- und Personal-Honorierung

  • Board Books

    Risk Management at Board Level – A Practical Guide for Board Members

  • Board Books

    Preventing Corporate Governance Failure

  • Board Books

    Protokollführung

  • Board Books

    Corporate Governance im Praxistest

  • Board Books

    Der Verwaltungsrat

  • Board Books

    New Hospital Governance

  • Board Books

    Pensionskassen Governance

  • Board Books

    Wirksame Governance von Medienunternehmen

  • Board Books

    Integrierte Corporate Governance

  • Board Books

    New Living Cases on Corporate Governance

  • Board Books

    New Corporate Governance

  • Board Books

    Strong Managers, Strong Owners: Corporate Governance and Strategy

  • Board Books

    Entrepreneurs and Democracy

  • Board Books

    Succession for Change

Empowering Board Leaders

Bénéficiez de toutes les synergies des offres combinées de la Swiss Board School, du Swiss Institute of Directors et de l’International Center for Corporate Governance.

DEVELOP

Vous doter des compétences nécessaires pour devenir un Board Leader. Bénéficier d’un large éventail de programmes de formation et d’une base de connaissances qui associe les meilleures pratiques des Conseils d’administration à l’excellence de l’enseignement.

CONNECT

Développez votre réseau et échangez des idées avec d’autres Board Leaders confrontés aux mêmes opportunités et défis. Développez votre portefeuille de CA en identifiant, en évaluant et en poursuivant les opportunités de postes ouverts au sein des Conseils d’Administration.

INNOVATE

Obtenir des perspectives sur les derniers développements en matière de gouvernance d’entreprise. Gardez une longueur d’avance en vous informant sur les tendances et les développements à venir afin d’apporter une réelle valeur ajoutée à vos conseils d’administration.

Insights

Learn from other Board Leaders

Knowledge is power. In the rapidly changing world of corporate governance, staying ahead of the curve is critical. Board News, Board Views, Board Guides, Board Books, and Board Casts offer a wide range of insights into key issues and the latest trends in corporate governance from our pool of international experts.

  • Board News

    Successful Graduation of the International Board Certificate Cohort 22/23

  • Board News

    The Swiss Institute of Directors Partners with the Chartered Governance Institute

  • Board Views

    From Corporate Governance of Sustainability to Sustainable Corporate Governance

    What is the best way to integrate sustainability into the corporate governance framework? Boards of directors have chosen two distinct paths: the functional way, which focuses on corporate governance of sustainability, and the foundational approach, which leads to sustainable corporate governance. This article assesses the merits and limitations of both approaches and calls for a transition to sustainable governance. This requires board members to engage regularly with stakeholders and to continuously debate the underlying assumptions to further develop the governance framework as required.

  • Board Views

    The Multipurpose Corporation as a Driver for Sustainable Value Creation

    The nature of the debate on the role of business in society strongly suggests a cyclical nature, with constant attempts to balance different interests and perspectives. To overcome the illusion of solving this conundrum, this article proposes an alternative approach, multipurpose capitalism. It posits that companies should compete not only on their products and services, but also on their different purpose profiles. It is left to consumers, workers, and investors to decide where to shop, work, and invest. The article offers a framework and methodology to create a comprehensive ecosystem that enables this matching process and suggests ways to overcome the challenges along the way.

  • Board News

    Board Foundation Chair to Join the ICGN Global Governance Committee

  • Board News

    The GNDI Global Director Report 2023 Published

  • Board Guides

    Primer on Climate-related Directors’ Duties

  • Board News

    Successful Graduation of the 22/23 Swiss Board Certificate Class

  • Board Views

    The Board as Driver of Sustainable Change

    Promoting a sense of responsibility is often seen as a benchmark for good corporate governance. The article argues for extending the discourse of responsibility to corporate citizenship and for understanding sustainability initiatives as innovation processes. The Board of Directors has a central role to play here, both in interpreting social change and in creating the conditions for successful implementation of social impact initiatives.

  • Board Views

    Striving for Excellence in Venture Governance

    The contribution of the venture board to entrepreneurial value creation, and its pivotal role in venture ecosystems, is often overlooked despite a long history of venture governance. History teaches us six principles of excellence in venture governance.

  • Board Views

    The Promise and Perils of Agile Governance

    Agility as a leadership principle has gained enormous importance in recent years. Many companies proclaim agility as a new leadership culture that is better aligned to future opportunities and challenges. At the same time, companies must adhere to corporate governance principles, some of which conflict with agility principles. This article presents considerations for improving the compatibility of agile leadership principles with the principles of effective corporate governance.

  • Board Views

    From Corporate to Ecosystem Governance

    Mastering ecosystems is increasingly seen as key to strategic value creation in highly dynamic environments. The role of governance has become a key differentiator between organizations that win or lose from the ecosystem game. This article discusses the importance of governance to the successful creation, development, and growth of ecosystems and presents eight challenges to be addressed along the ecosystem lifecycle. It continues with a taxonomy of ecosystem governance that provides a menu of effective governance mechanisms to address these challenges. The article concludes with advice on how best to manage the transition from a corporate governance to an ecosystem governance focus.

  • Board Views

    Mission Accomplished? The State of Digital Governance

    Five years ago, I invited a number of thought leaders to reflect with me on the role of the board of directors in the face of digitalization. The result was a collection of twelve perspectives on the governance of digitalization (Hilb 2017). Where are we now, five years, one pandemic, and perceived thousands of articles on digital governance later?

  • Board News

    A Tribute to Martin Hilb

  • Board News

    Changes in Leadership at the Board Foundation

  • Board Guides

    Guidelines on the Corporate Governance of Organizational Culture

  • Board Guides

    Guidelines on the Corporate Governance of Climate Change and Biodiversity

  • Board Guides

    Guidelines on the Corporate Governance of Data

  • Board Guides

    Guidelines on the Corporate Governance of Cybersecurity

  • Board Guides

    Guidelines on the Corporate Governance of Startups

  • Board Guides

    Guidelines on the Corporate Governance of Business Excellence

  • Board Guides

    Guidelines on the Corporate Governance of SMEs

  • Board Books

    Governance of Sustainability

  • Board Books

    Governance of Ecosystems

  • Board Books

    Governace of Ventures

  • Board Books

    Governance of Digitalization

  • Board Books

    Wirksame Führung und Aufsicht von öffentlichen Unternehmen

  • Board Books

    Strategische Führung auf VR und GL-Ebene in KMU

  • Board Books

    Verwaltungsrats-Sitzungen Grundlegung und Sitzungstechnik

  • Board Books

    Normatives Management

    Die globale Finanz- und Wirtschaftskrise hat wachgerüttelt und gezeigt, dass sich für die Unternehmensführung ein neues Management-Modell aufdrängt, das nicht mehr vom Prinzip der Gewinnmaximierung, sondern von einem «Gewinn unter Nebenbedingungen», d.h. unter der An­nahme einer realistischen Berücksichtigung von Anliegen und lnteressen aller Anspruchsgruppen, ausgeht. Diese Nebenbedingungen umfassen dabei alle jene Kriterien, die über die rein ökonomische Maximierung hinausge­hen und die Nachhaltigkeit sowie die Corporate Social Responsibility definieren und sicherstellen. Sie bilden die Grundlage für das normative Management, das bewusst in die strategische Planung in der Unternehmung einzu­beziehen ist.

  • Board Books

    Wirksame Führung und Aufsicht von Not-for-Profit-Organisationen

  • Board Books

    Wirksame Führung und Aufsicht von Familienunternehmen

  • Board Books

    Neues integriertes Konzept der VR, GL- und Personal-Honorierung

  • Board Books

    Risk Management at Board Level – A Practical Guide for Board Members

  • Board Books

    Preventing Corporate Governance Failure

  • Board Books

    Protokollführung

  • Board Books

    Corporate Governance im Praxistest

  • Board Books

    Der Verwaltungsrat

  • Board Books

    New Hospital Governance

  • Board Books

    Pensionskassen Governance

  • Board Books

    Wirksame Governance von Medienunternehmen

  • Board Books

    Integrierte Corporate Governance

  • Board Books

    New Living Cases on Corporate Governance

  • Board Books

    New Corporate Governance

  • Board Books

    Guide Pratique du Conseil d’administration

  • Board Books

    Strong Managers, Strong Owners: Corporate Governance and Strategy

  • Board Books

    Entrepreneurs and Democracy

  • Board Books

    Succession for Change

Empowering Board Leaders

Benefit from the full power of the combined offerings of the Swiss Board School, the Swiss Institute of Directors, and the International Center for Corporate Governance.

Develop

Equip yourself with the skills needed to become an even more effective board chair, member, or secretary. Benefit from a broad range of education programs and a knowledge base that combines best board practices with educational excellence.

Connect

Nurture your network and share ideas with other board leaders facing the same opportunities and challenges. Develop your board portfolio by identifying, assessing, and pursuing opportunities for open board positions.

Innovate

Gain insights into the latest regulatory developments and academic research in corporate governance. Stay ahead of the curve by learning about upcoming trends and developments so you can truly add value to your boards.